Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Post Reply
MG64
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:08 pm

Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Post by MG64 »

I configured my Openspot2 to connect to my home WiFi and my IPhone. When I shutoff my home WiFi, the Openspot2 switched to my IPhone hotspot. I then turned on home WiFI and shutoff the IPhone hotspot. The Openspot2 did not switch back to home WiFi, and said internet was unreachable. I had to cycle power to the Openspot2 in order for it to connect to my home WiFi. Is the Openspot2 good for only one WiFi switch? Any additional information would be helpful.
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Post by HA2NON »

Please allow a few minutes for your router to accept the openSPOT2's connection.
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
markw4itg
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:43 pm
Location: Somerset, NJ

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Post by markw4itg »

I’ve noticed the same thing. It will go from connection 1 to connection 2 but will not go back to connection 1 without a power recycle.
Mark ARS W4ITG
openSPOT2 * 2
Kd4gfy
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 3:50 pm

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Post by Kd4gfy »

I also have the same problem. Did no reconnect after 30 minutes
9g5ar
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 10:04 pm

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Post by 9g5ar »

I also confirm this to be the behaviour of my openspot2 .
It will connect to a previously skipped wifi SSID only after power-cycling it.

The openspot2 certainly has wifi issues.
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Post by HA2NON »

We can't reproduce this behavior. Please describe what networks you've set and what steps do you exactly take.
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
EdAtlanta
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 12:49 pm

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Post by EdAtlanta »

My OS2 switches back and forth with no issues. My internet sources are both Verizon Jetpacks one of which is an unlimited data plan and my primary when at home. The other one is the same Jetpack model, but not an unlimited plan and I use this one when traveling. Both work fine and switching isn't an issue for me.
Ed
KM4STL
3101156
lilmill
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 12:58 am

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Post by lilmill »

I cannot get mine to switch either. I have profile one as connection to iPhone and profile 2 connected to home wifi. It would be great if I forget to log in and switch from 2 to 1 when leaving house, that it would still connect. currently I have to hit the mode button and go ap mode and change then turn hotspot on and connect.
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Post by HA2NON »

Please don't use different configuration profiles to manually switch between Wi-Fi connections. The OS2 does not switch configuration profiles automatically based on available Wi-Fi networks.

You have to configure your home Wi-Fi to SSID slot #1 and tour phone Wi-Fi to slot #2 and if the home Wi-Fi is unreachable, it will auto connect to the phone Wi-Fi.
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
lilmill
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 12:58 am

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Post by lilmill »

Great thanks for the response . I found it after clicking advanced so I have home WiFi in ssid1 . Phone 1 on ssid2 and phone2 in ssid3. I’ll test it out today
Post Reply