Page 1 of 1

Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:50 pm
by MG64
I configured my Openspot2 to connect to my home WiFi and my IPhone. When I shutoff my home WiFi, the Openspot2 switched to my IPhone hotspot. I then turned on home WiFI and shutoff the IPhone hotspot. The Openspot2 did not switch back to home WiFi, and said internet was unreachable. I had to cycle power to the Openspot2 in order for it to connect to my home WiFi. Is the Openspot2 good for only one WiFi switch? Any additional information would be helpful.

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:09 am
by HA2NON
Please allow a few minutes for your router to accept the openSPOT2's connection.

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:11 pm
by markw4itg
I’ve noticed the same thing. It will go from connection 1 to connection 2 but will not go back to connection 1 without a power recycle.

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 2:11 am
by Kd4gfy
I also have the same problem. Did no reconnect after 30 minutes

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:18 am
by 9g5ar
I also confirm this to be the behaviour of my openspot2 .
It will connect to a previously skipped wifi SSID only after power-cycling it.

The openspot2 certainly has wifi issues.

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:38 am
by HA2NON
We can't reproduce this behavior. Please describe what networks you've set and what steps do you exactly take.

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:21 pm
by EdAtlanta
My OS2 switches back and forth with no issues. My internet sources are both Verizon Jetpacks one of which is an unlimited data plan and my primary when at home. The other one is the same Jetpack model, but not an unlimited plan and I use this one when traveling. Both work fine and switching isn't an issue for me.

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Posted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:01 am
by lilmill
I cannot get mine to switch either. I have profile one as connection to iPhone and profile 2 connected to home wifi. It would be great if I forget to log in and switch from 2 to 1 when leaving house, that it would still connect. currently I have to hit the mode button and go ap mode and change then turn hotspot on and connect.

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Posted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:11 pm
by HA2NON
Please don't use different configuration profiles to manually switch between Wi-Fi connections. The OS2 does not switch configuration profiles automatically based on available Wi-Fi networks.

You have to configure your home Wi-Fi to SSID slot #1 and tour phone Wi-Fi to slot #2 and if the home Wi-Fi is unreachable, it will auto connect to the phone Wi-Fi.

Re: Openspot2 Switching between WiFi Signals

Posted: Sat Feb 22, 2020 5:09 pm
by lilmill
Great thanks for the response . I found it after clicking advanced so I have home WiFi in ssid1 . Phone 1 on ssid2 and phone2 in ssid3. I’ll test it out today