Modify the /OpenSpot3 in D-Star transmission?

Post Reply
BillP
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:15 am

Modify the /OpenSpot3 in D-Star transmission?

Post by BillP »

Hi;

I have the OS3 and it's working great.

My radio is set to send my call /my name, but the OS3 modifies this transmission by substituting OpenSpot 3 for 'my name'. Can I set up the OS3 to pass through what it gets from the radio or can I configure it to transmit /whatever-I-want.

Thanks

73, Bill, KE5XV
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5895
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Modify the /OpenSpot3 in D-Star transmission?

Post by HA2NON »

Can you please further explain what you mean, by posting a screenshot or photo?
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
K6EEN
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:49 pm

Re: Modify the /OpenSpot3 in D-Star transmission?

Post by K6EEN »

My guess is they just need to change the "message" field in the openSPOT3 D-STAR settings to their name and QTH, instead of whatever default is in there. I changed it to my Yaesu radio type, but left the openSPOT3 in there to indicate to other D-STAR users that I was cross-mode through the openSPOT3.
Screen Shot 2021-04-18 at 8.03.57 PM.png
N1IG
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:50 pm

Re: Modify the /OpenSpot3 in D-Star transmission?

Post by N1IG »

I leave the "Force message to D-STAR network in cross mode:" blank, and it appears to allow the info from my D74 to pass through.
Screen Shot 2021-04-19 at 8.36.58 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-04-19 at 8.42.40 AM.png
K6EEN
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:49 pm

Re: Modify the /OpenSpot3 in D-Star transmission?

Post by K6EEN »

Cool. Good to know.
davidbaker123
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 12, 2021 12:12 pm
Location: Mancos, Colorado

Re: Modify the /OpenSpot3 in D-Star transmission?

Post by davidbaker123 »

I just ran into the same problem, I couldn't figure out how to solve it for a long time, thanks
Post Reply