DMR Question

VK3MTV

DMR Question

Post by VK3MTV »

I am new to DMR but not D-Star and am reasonably confidant with the Openspot3. My question is as follows, If I am connected to IPSC2-VKHOTSPOT server and I am on say TG505......I see that I am connected via the dashboard which shows I am on TS2, TG505. Now, if I sit there for a while I have seen TG505 disappear from the TS2 slot adjacent to my callsign. Am I still connected to TG505 or is there a time out or something that I have to set in the radio (Anytone 878 Plus) or is it something on the Openspot3 settings? I am a bit confused.

Could someone explain what is going on please in simple terms?

Thank you.
Greg.
N1IG

Re: DMR Question

Post by N1IG »

I am guessing that you have a Dynamic Link to that talk group, instead of a static talk group:

What is a Dynamic Talkgroup?

Dynamic talkgroups assignments are used for temporary activation on a timeslot on a particular repeater. This type of talkgroup functions for a set amount of time AFTER a local repeater user activates it by transmitting on a repeater using that talkgroup in their radio. When the timer expires and no local user has keyed up again for a set amount of time… the timeslot and the talkgroup and release and the repeater is again open only to the talkgroups that remain static.
For example, if you are traveling in Colorado and wish to talk to a friend back home in Missouri, you could key up the Missouri talkgroup on a Colorado repeater that allows dynamic talkgroups and make a call on repeaters at home that have the Missouri talkgroup set as static. When you are done with your conversation, the dynamic timer will expire and the Colorado repeater will go back to normal.

What is a Static Talkgroup?
A static talkgroup is one that is permanently activated on a particular timeslot by the repeater sysop. This type of static assignment passes ALL traffic from the DMR network over the air on the timeslot it is assigned to.