Openspot3, and EEro, and/or Mesh routers?

jbradshoemaker
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 1:27 pm

Re: Openspot3, and EEro, and/or Mesh routers?

Post by jbradshoemaker »

Brian,

As you can see from below - Eero wants to explore bringing OpenSpot3 to the most recent update and ruling it out will get us to the place where I'll need to bring the mesh network back to factory defaults and start again (a major pain). After that, according to below, Brandon is out of ideas so I'll buy google nest (a major expense and pain) and if that doesn't work its back to SharkRF.

Surely there must be a log file that can be created which displays the glitch. I did download wireshark for mac but do not know how to get you the info you need. I am returning to you because you have been innovative in your approach.

Just out of curiosity the other fellow from SharkRF said he'd send me the file to update OS3 but never did, and my follow up requests appear to have been ignored. Are you able to send me the manual update with instructions, or is it not possible and the other fellow simply misspoke?

Brad
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Brandon (eero Customer Support)
Mar 15, 2021, 1:39 PM CDT

Hi Brad,

As far as I can see there is nothing in the eero network that would be blocking the OpenSpots internet access, I believe that we need to try and get that device updated. Sometimes if there are updates available for devices, those devices will have random issues and sometimes certain features stop working when the device is not updated to the latest firmware.

I would suggest that we try to get in touch with their support again and see if there is a way for them to assist you in getting your device updated.

Best,
Brandon | eero Support
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5990
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Openspot3, and EEro, and/or Mesh routers?

Post by HA2NON »

We'll send you the manual firmware upgrade instructions if you contact us at info@sharkrf.com
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
Tyrbiter
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:25 pm

Re: Openspot3, and EEro, and/or Mesh routers?

Post by Tyrbiter »

Hi again all, sorry I missed this but I would agree that as a first step send a request to info@sharkrf.com for the file that will get you to v53 firmware. This just went stable today I think.

Once that's done then please feel free to request more help, I would be quite happy to try and get you sorted out.
Brian G8SEZ
jbradshoemaker
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 1:27 pm

Re: Openspot3, and EEro, and/or Mesh routers?

Post by jbradshoemaker »

Hi Brian,

As per Norbert's request I have sent an email to info requesting the newest stable update. As an afterthought, I do not expect a 'cleansing' of the eero system to have success because others have been having the same problem. (Yes - some can share the same glitch but the probability is low). Changing to another Mesh network probably would solve the problem, but I own 6 of these Eero routers (due to the size, materials and odd layout of my property) so buying 6 more from a competitor is a significant cost.

I'll let you know when the update to OS3 has been installed and if it makes a difference.

Brad
jbradshoemaker
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 1:27 pm

Re: Openspot3, and EEro, and/or Mesh routers?

Post by jbradshoemaker »

Hi Brian,

I have updated to the most recent update. Booted up. The LEDs are flashing red and blue alternately - seems to be 2 flashes for each colour.

Using my Eero app I can see that it has connected at 2.4 GHz to my kitchen Eero which is the same as my computer.

Using http://192.168.7.210/#status. I can see that it is connected too but "● internet connection error". On the log it shows retrying e.g. AmericaLink.

On the status page it shows firmware version V53.

So everything seems to be in order

Maybe there is a way to send you all of my OS3 settings - while is unlikely to be the problem as others with Eero are also experiencing it, but ...maybe there is a setting somewhere that is not proper.

Otherwise I have wireshark at the ready

Thx again for looking at it.

Brad
Tyrbiter
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:25 pm

Re: Openspot3, and EEro, and/or Mesh routers?

Post by Tyrbiter »

If you can see the IP address that the AmericaLink server uses, try a ping and a traceroute from your laptop to that address. I think you should be able to see it on the connectors page.

If that works on the laptop then see if the gateway address on the OS3 network page is correct.

We can then see if you need to try Wireshark.
Brian G8SEZ
jbradshoemaker
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 1:27 pm

Re: Openspot3, and EEro, and/or Mesh routers?

Post by jbradshoemaker »

Hi Brian,

It does not give me an IP but instead a website net: americalink.radiotechnology.xyz

Checking on the IP for the website and pinging that reveals

64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=2 ttl=55 time=97.640 ms
64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=3 ttl=55 time=103.027 ms
64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=4 ttl=55 time=132.309 ms
64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=5 ttl=55 time=136.855 ms
64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=6 ttl=55 time=296.822 ms
64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=7 ttl=55 time=161.493 ms
64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=8 ttl=55 time=233.139 ms
64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=9 ttl=55 time=135.070 ms
64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=10 ttl=55 time=246.874 ms
64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=11 ttl=55 time=107.660 ms
64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=12 ttl=55 time=101.666 ms
64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=13 ttl=55 time=92.789 ms
64 bytes from 192.64.119.254: icmp_seq=14 ttl=55 time=94.932 ms
64 bytes from 192... etc.

I previously (and regularly) test this in a different way by connecting through my cellular system and changing to a different but active reflector. E.G. REF001C and REF030C. When I reconnect via wifi it uses last settings and gives me the same result. It is not therefore likely to be an issue with the site that OS3 is attempting to reach but instead...something in the middle.
This method also shows that it is not a crosstalk issue as I have both a Dstar HT and a C4FM HT and I am crossing (or not crossing) between these and AmericaLink (C4FM) and REF (Dstar)
Tyrbiter
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:25 pm

Re: Openspot3, and EEro, and/or Mesh routers?

Post by Tyrbiter »

Right, well there is something really odd going on.

I can ping and traceroute to 192.64.119.254 but a dig -x 192.64.119.254 does not resolve to an A record.

If I traceroute to americalink.radiotechnology.xyz then that resolves to 104.245.34.107 and a traceroute to that peters out somewhere in Dallas but ping works.

So, given this, I think it would be useful to know what IP address your OS3 thinks it ought to be connecting to.

A bit more looking and I see that the http:// response from americalink.radiotechnology.xyz sends you to the America Link Facebook group home page. It's entirely possible that UDP port 42000 is redirecting to the other IP address but I don't know because it's not obvious what is happening. In any case I can't see why your OS3 would decide to change an IP address for a UDP connection that's something that would happen at the server end.
Brian G8SEZ
jbradshoemaker
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 1:27 pm

Re: Openspot3, and EEro, and/or Mesh routers?

Post by jbradshoemaker »

Hi Brian,

I alternated between my cell (so I can change reflectors) and my wifi (turned off autoscroll and limit lines) so I could capture the beginning of each.

Americalink, REF001C, REF030C

08:10:15 httpsrv[0]: websocket opened with token e8da18ec
08:10:16 net: americalink.radiotechnology.xyz resolve error
08:10:16 net-connector: connect retry in 209 ms
08:10:16 ysfref: uninitialized
08:10:16 net: americalink.radiotechnology.xyz resolve error, retrying
08:10:16 net: americalink.radiotechnology.xyz resolve error, retrying
08:10:16 net: americalink.radiotechnology.xyz resolve error, retrying
08:10:16 net: americalink.radiotechnology.xyz resolve error
08:10:16 net-connector: connect retry in 171 ms
08:10:16 ysfref: uninitialized
08:10:16 net: americalink.radiotechnology.xyz resolve error, retrying
08:10:17 net: americalink.radiotechnology.xyz resolve error, retrying
08:10:17 net: americalink.radiotechnology.xyz resolve error, retrying

08:16:30 httpsrv[0]: websocket opened with token 0c62426e
08:16:30 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error
08:16:30 a3k: reset req.
08:16:30 net-connector: connect retry in 168 ms
08:16:30 net: connectivitycheck.gstatic.com resolve error, retrying
08:16:30 a3k-receive: init ok
08:16:30 ref: uninitialized
08:16:30 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error, retrying
08:16:30 net: connectivitycheck.gstatic.com resolve error
08:16:30 nvmm: net check retry 1/2
08:16:31 batt: stat: dischargenvmm: net ip report
08:16:31 , 90% (new) (3970mV 25C est. 8h58m)
08:16:31 net: sharkrf.link resolve error, retrying
08:16:31 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error, retrying
08:16:31 net: sharkrf.link resolve error, retrying
08:16:31 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error, retrying
08:16:31 net: sharkrf.link resolve error, retrying
08:16:31 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error
08:16:31 a3k: reset req.
08:16:31 net: sharkrf.link resolve error
08:16:31 nvmm: net ip address report retry 2/10
08:16:31 net-connector: connect retry in 103 ms
08:16:31 a3k-receive: init ok
08:16:31 ref: uninitialized
08:16:31 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error, retrying
08:16:32 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error, retrying
08:16:32 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error, retrying
08:16:32 nvmm: downloading verinfo
08:16:32 net: img.sharkrf.com resolve error, retrying
08:16:32 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error
08:16:32 a3k: reset req.
08:16:32 net: img.sharkrf.

08:20:35 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error
08:20:35 a3k: reset req.
08:20:35 net-connector: connect retry in 173 ms
08:20:35 a3k-receive: init ok
08:20:36 ref: uninitialized
08:20:36 nvmm: net check
08:20:36 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error, retrying
08:20:36 net: connectivitycheck.gstatic.com resolve error, retrying
08:20:36 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error, retrying
08:20:36 net: connectivitycheck.gstatic.com resolve error, retrying
08:20:36 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error, retrying
08:20:36 net: connectivitycheck.gstatic.com resolve error, retrying
08:20:36 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error
08:20:36 a3k: reset req.
08:20:36 net: connectivitycheck.gstatic.com resolve error
08:20:36 nvmm: net check failed
08:20:36 nvmm: net ip report
08:20:36 net-connector: connect retry in 173 ms
08:20:36 a3k-receive: init ok
08:20:36 net: sharkrf.link resolve error, retrying
08:20:37 ref: uninitialized
08:20:37 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error, retrying
08:20:37 net: sharkrf.link resolve error, retrying
08:20:37 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error, retrying
08:20:37 net: sharkrf.link resolve error, retrying
08:20:37 net: ccs002.xreflector.net resolve error, retrying
08:20:37 net: sharkrf.link resolve error
08:20:37 nvmm: net ip address report retry 3/10
08:


I'll address your last communication shortly
jbradshoemaker
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 1:27 pm

Re: Openspot3, and EEro, and/or Mesh routers?

Post by jbradshoemaker »

Hi Brian,

Hopefully that was of some help. Your statement seems to be a stream of consciousness ending in a need to bring in the ISP.

Given this has occurred with others geopolitically separated (and thus using different ISPs), all using the Eero mesh network it would seem to not be the ISPs unless Eero somehow operates differently with them...and this still ends up being an Eero/OS3 issue.

If you emailed Brandon and possibly worked with one of their programmers the two of you could likely troubleshoot this better.

Regardless, Let me know what I need to do next and thanks for your continued help.

Brad
Post Reply