Number of static talk groups?

kd8vok

Number of static talk groups?

Post by kd8vok » Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:41 pm

I'm new to DMR. Yesterday I received an Anytone 878 plus an original OpenSpot. After watching countless YouTube videos, I think I have most of it working.

I have a few questions about static talk groups. I'm wondering how many do most people use? Please tell me if I got this wrong - as I understand it, the advantage to the static talk group is it's always "on". So my OS will always broadcast conversations for the talk groups I select. Then if I have my radio in scan mode, it will stop whenever a channel that is programmed with that TG# detects a conversation.

So I was wondering what happens if I put in maybe a dozen static talk groups. Then they're all active at once. Does that mean the OS is transmitting all of those conversations at the same time? I'm just wondering how many it can handle at once.

310 TAC-310 USA
311 TAC-311 USA
312 TAC-312 USA
313 TAC 313 USA
314 TAC 314 USA
315 TAC 315 USA
316 TAC 316 USA
317 TAC 317 USA
318 TAC 318 USA
319 TAC 319 USA
913 English (world wide)
3139 Ohio
3169 Midwest

zelthian

Re: Number of static talk groups?

Post by zelthian » Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:25 am

First, no need to scan. Just put all the talk group in your receive group, and whatever transmits will come out your radio. Or see if your radio has a digital monitor feature.

Second, only one transmission can be happening on a talk group at any given time. If there are several talk groups "static" on a time slot/hotspot, first one to transmit "wins", and the others don't transmit.

kd8vok

Post by kd8vok » Mon Nov 12, 2018 2:08 am