TYT MD380 Code Plug for OpenSpot

W5hj
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 4:21 pm

Re: TYT MD380 Code Plug for OpenSpot

Post by W5hj »

I notice that you did program a 4000 disconnect channel so a assume you are aware of the need to disconnect from your current talkgroup before connecting to a new one. This is necessary because the Brandmeister network will sometimes leave you connected to the previous talkgroup for up to 6 minutes and you will continue to recieve traffic on that talkgroup. You won't hear it but you will see the red modem light on your Openspot. This will interfere with your ability to operate on the new talkgroup.
Hank W5HJ 73
VA3SQD
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 11:33 pm

Re: TYT MD380 Code Plug for OpenSpot

Post by VA3SQD »

Hi,

Would you mind sharing your General Settings page as well? I'm wondering if setting related to power saving (Save Preamble/Save Mode Receive) and TX Preamble Duration I'm using might be suboptimal for OpenSpot as the CP I'm using was initially built for Motorola repeaters.

Thanks,

--
Dan
AB8DT wrote:Got it figured out. If you can blow up the photo you can get an idea of how to configure the MD380 to change TG with OpenSpot.
G6NQO
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 11:13 pm

Re: TYT MD380 Code Plug for OpenSpot

Post by G6NQO »

AB8DT wrote:Got it figured out. If you can blow up the photo you can get an idea of how to configure the MD380 to change TG with OpenSpot.
Thank you for this.
K3JCM
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 10:08 pm

Re: TYT MD380 Code Plug for OpenSpot

Post by K3JCM »

Thanks for the detailed instructions and pictures. I set my TYT MD380 with 9, 31360, 3100 and 4000 (disconnect) and my Open Spot as you show. Seemed to work fine but after talking on 3100 and then keying up 4000, I was still hearing 3100 traffic on all channels.

I must be doing something wrong. Anyone?
GW4VRO
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:10 pm

Re: TYT MD380 Code Plug for OpenSpot

Post by GW4VRO »

When you send 4000 brandmeister will set the last tg as a static tg. You need to log in to brandmeister to clear the static tg.
k1lho
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: TYT MD380 Code Plug for OpenSpot

Post by k1lho »

K3JCM wrote: Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:58 am Thanks for the detailed instructions and pictures. I set my TYT MD380 with 9, 31360, 3100 and 4000 (disconnect) and my Open Spot as you show. Seemed to work fine but after talking on 3100 and then keying up 4000, I was still hearing 3100 traffic on all channels.

I must be doing something wrong. Anyone?
When the green light is on you can not transmit. While tuned to tg4000, press the PTT as soon as the Green goes out and you will clear the channel.
Bob K
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:50 pm

Re: TYT MD380 Code Plug for OpenSpot

Post by Bob K »

Does the openSpot2 use TG 9 for communicating with the user? If so, wouldn't it need to be in a receive list with the selected channel?
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5398
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: TYT MD380 Code Plug for OpenSpot

Post by HA2NON »

Yes and yes.
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
Post Reply