Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

kd5dvl
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:09 pm

Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by kd5dvl » Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:12 pm

I am running a wires-x node on a 2m repeater using an ftm-400 and HRI-200.

I have an openspot that I want to take remotely when I travel to be able to talk back to my repeater.

Is this possible at all?

Is there a way to specify my wires-x node in the openspot software to connect just to my system at home?

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4413
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by HA2NON » Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:51 am

Connecting directly to Wires-X is not supported yet, but we're planning adding it.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

kd5dvl
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:09 pm

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by kd5dvl » Mon Feb 06, 2017 2:31 pm

Awesome, thanks for the reply. I think that addition will be a big step forward.

Pretty nice little product.

Is there a timeline for the update perhaps?

Thank you

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4413
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by HA2NON » Mon Feb 06, 2017 2:40 pm

We don't know when it'll be implemented.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

kd5dvl
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:09 pm

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by kd5dvl » Fri Feb 10, 2017 5:24 am

If the wires-x node is on my local network is it possible to connect that way somehow perhaps?

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4413
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by HA2NON » Fri Feb 10, 2017 8:09 am

Wires-X is not supported yet.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

kd5dvl
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:09 pm

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by kd5dvl » Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:13 pm

Ok, I understand that it is not supported yet, but still confused.

It can connect to the "America-Link" room with no problem.

this is done apparently by this:

Server address: fcs002.xreflector.net
Port: 62500
Reflector: FCS002
Room number: 90

and it works great

I understand the server address part, and the port, and I should be able to map this easily by creating my own server entry in openspot.

KK5AN-REPEATER 28313 001

this is my wires-x node connected to my friends repeater, there is no way to map it at all?

How did you map America-Link then?

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4413
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by HA2NON » Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:50 pm

You are talking about FCS, which is a different protocol than Wires-X. Some FCS rooms are linked to Wires-X rooms by using a hotspot (for example openSPOT) and a C4FM radio with a HRI200.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

kd5dvl
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:09 pm

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by kd5dvl » Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:02 pm

how do you connect openspot to an hri 200?

User avatar
W2SJW
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 8:09 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by W2SJW » Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:02 pm

To follow-up with what Norbert said - the owners of the FCS Fusion network are the ones responsible for creating that cross-connect to Wires-X.

The openSPOT has nothing to do with it.

Sent from may Galaxy S6 via Tapatalk 6
Scott, W2SJW

Post Reply