Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

kd5dvl
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:09 pm

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by kd5dvl » Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:18 pm

well, it seems like i have all the hardware for this puzzle, i have the C4FM radio, the openspot, and an HRI-200.

But I can't figure out how to connect the 3 together

AB8DT
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:56 pm
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Contact:

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by AB8DT » Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:19 pm

You can set up a bridge as Norbert mentioned. Since you are on VHF you will need to wait for the VHF version of the OpenSpot to bridge into the FCS or YSF system or use another device like a VHF DV4mini. I have RF Linked into a local UHF Repeater with my Wires-X Node and used the OpenSpot as a bridge into the FCS002/22 Michigan Reflector. You set up the HRI-200 & the OpenSpot to the repeater input & output as shown on the attachment. I have used my VHF DV4mini on a VHF repeater before but the DV4mini is not stable and needs restarts to clear memory leaks in Win10. I know of some who use ithem on RPI & have better luck. I like the OpenSpot best since it just plain works & is very stable and I have not seen a FW update with the DV4 in a long time is another issue.

Ron, AB8DT
Attachments
Bridge Networks.jpg

kd5dvl
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:09 pm

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by kd5dvl » Fri Feb 10, 2017 5:17 pm

Thank you for the clarification..... I think I will have to wait for a VHF openspot then.

I looked at the DV4 mini also, and didnt like the reviews which is why i chose the openspot instead.


thanks.

KD9MY
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:41 pm

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by KD9MY » Sat Feb 18, 2017 2:45 pm

Any updates for an ETA on a firmware update that would allow direct Wires-X connections?
I know it's on the wish list, but if it's not coming in the near future I may buy a HRI-200.

Thanks for your dedication and all of the recent enhancements.

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4257
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by HA2NON » Sat Feb 18, 2017 6:46 pm

If openSPOT will include support for Wires-X connections, you will still need a HRI200, as it's registered serial number is needed for connecting to the network.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

N0EIR
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:02 am

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by N0EIR » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:47 pm

Oh, this is interesting.
Do you think we would be able to use one SN to connect both the HRI-200 and openSPOT simultaneously or will it be one at a time ?

The more I think about it I can't see how you would be able to use both at the same time because you would be using the same 5-digit node ID.

-- Dave
N0EIR

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4257
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by HA2NON » Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:19 pm

It is not possible to connect two clients with the same HRI200 ID to Wires-X.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

N0EIR
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:02 am

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by N0EIR » Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:25 pm

Well, for me it's worth the cost of another HRI-200 on the shelf to play wires-x with openSPOT.

HRI-200 + FTM-100 + PC + Power Supply < HRI-200 + openSPOT

-- Dave
N0EIR

iz0qwm
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:36 am

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by iz0qwm » Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:02 pm

Hi Norbert,
the only problem on using a direct link to the Wires-X world (just like already done with BrandMeister) is that the SharkRf will need the ports opened on the router at least the 46110 udp.
It is possible to bypass the Yaesu ILS server using the fixed IP address of the room or a dyndns.

73 de Raffaello IZ0QWM
http://www.wires-x-italia.it

kd5dvl
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:09 pm

Re: Connect Openspot to my wires-x node

Post by kd5dvl » Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:08 pm

opening ports is easy, can we make this happen?

Post Reply