Openspot direct to computer?

Post Reply
Roberteod
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:10 pm

Openspot direct to computer?

Post by Roberteod »

I have a wifi hotspot on my iphone that I can connect with my computer. Is it possible to connect the openspot to the computer via an ethernet cable and connect that way. The big reason is that the ping on the hotspot is 37ms. I do have two different mini routers but I can't get them to recognize the hotspot from my iphone. Thanks for any input.
User avatar
WB5JJJ
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 8:06 pm

Re: Openspot direct to computer?

Post by WB5JJJ »

The Vonets mini routers/hotsposts will not connect to iPhones or iPads.
George Cotton, WB5JJJ
Russellville, Arkansas USA
Roberteod
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Openspot direct to computer?

Post by Roberteod »

I am using the TP-Link mini hotspot.
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5393
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Openspot direct to computer?

Post by HA2NON »

Yes, it's possible to directly connect openSPOT to a computer. Just turn on internet connection sharing.
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
Roberteod
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Openspot direct to computer?

Post by Roberteod »

I may not have been very specific at first. I have an iphone that has a wifi hotspot that I can connect to my computer. Is there a way to connect the openspot so that I can use the wifi connection on the computer? My mini router will not make contact with the internet so I am hoping there is a way to connect with the wifi on the computer. When I plug the ethernet cable into the computer it shows a public connection with no internet access.
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5393
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Openspot direct to computer?

Post by HA2NON »

Yes, but you have to turn on internet connection sharing on your computer.
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
g7mbh
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:33 am

Re: Openspot direct to computer?

Post by g7mbh »

I've just been playing with this, and in windows 10 you need to bridge the ethernet to wi-fi connections:
if you go to control panel, network and internet, network connections and us ctrl to select both the ethernet and the wifi, right click and choose bridge connections.
Post Reply