Connecting to the Open Spot

dougbrewster
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 11:50 pm

Connecting to the Open Spot

Post by dougbrewster »

Good luck getting to the Login page for open spot. Using the instructions copied below fails me 80+% of the time using my MacBook Pro computer. Every once is a while, I'm able to connect, login and make changes. Generally I end up stuck on my last settings until I get a gift from God and can login. Right now, I'm stuck on America link and have been for more than a week, unable to login and make any selection changes. If I'm doing something wrong, please let me know.


Open http://openspot.local or http://openspot/ in your browser. Note that you may have to enter openSPOT’s IP address, if you can’t open the page (for ex. on Android and iOS phones, which don’t support MDNS or LLMNR – see the note below).
Doug
KC3EDV

User avatar
zelthian
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 10:59 pm
Location: Centennial, CO
Contact:

Re: Connecting to the Open Spot

Post by zelthian »

Out of curiosity, what browser are you using?

I've never had this problem, though I'm using Chrome as my browser.

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5155
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Connecting to the Open Spot

Post by HA2NON »

Have you tried using your openSPOT's IP address directly to open the web interface?
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

dougbrewster
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 11:50 pm

Re: Connecting to the Open Spot

Post by dougbrewster »

I have "Safari" on my MacBook pro. I will try Chrome and give that try. Typing the the IP address directly had the same results.

Thanks for the suggestions, I'll keep you posted. Love my OpenSpot !!
Best regards,
Doug
Doug
KC3EDV

dougbrewster
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 11:50 pm

Re: Connecting to the Open Spot

Post by dougbrewster »

SUCCESS !!!!! I downloaded "Chrome" on my Macbook pro and the first try connected. great success !!! I'm able to connect easily now using Chrome. Thank you for the help.
Doug
KC3EDV

User avatar
AA1PR
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:07 pm
Location: FN33 Vermont Mountains
Contact:

Re: Connecting to the Open Spot

Post by AA1PR »

I use firefox on all my devices and dont have any issues
I've got your DMR #
http://dmr.boards.net/

dougbrewster
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 11:50 pm

Re: Connecting to the Open Spot

Post by dougbrewster »

AA1PR wrote:
Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:28 am
I use firefox on all my devices and dont have any issues
I've not tried Firefox. I may give that a test too. Thanks

Doug
Doug
KC3EDV

KC2AXD
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:32 am

Re: Connecting to the Open Spot

Post by KC2AXD »

It's even worse on a iPad. Every time I save a link it works for a moment then never works again.

BobHam
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:04 pm

Re: Connecting to the Open Spot

Post by BobHam »

I sometimes use an anonymous proxy for internet access. It must be turned off to connect to the OpenSpot.

User avatar
VK3BT
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 12:14 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Connecting to the Open Spot

Post by VK3BT »

Open http://openspot.local or http://openspot/ in your browser.
Has anyone succeeded in connecting this way, out of the box? The first just fails and the second takes me to "www.openspot.com" (Firefox behaviour).

One of these days my router will assign a different IP address and I'll have to get into the router to find the Openspot's new address.

Yes, I could set up a fixed address and edit localhost (in Windows) to point http://openspot.local to it...

But just wondering about the quoted text above.

Post Reply