Page 1 of 1

No audio on cs 700 clone

Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2017 7:44 pm
by n8dv
This is my first post on this forum and I need a little help in setting up a Anytone D858 to work with the openSPOT. The radio is a Connect Systems 700 clone. I have one tx and rx group in the radio and it's TG9. I have the radio set to digital simplex on 436.0000 for both tx and rx. I can connect to the openSPOT but hear no audio from reflectors or other talkgroups. Am I setting up my radio incorrectly? Any help from the assembled multitude would be greatly appreciated. 73

Re: No audio on cs 700 clone

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 8:14 am
by HA2NON
Please test your radio with openSPOT's built-in echo on DMR ID 9999.

Re: No audio on cs 700 clone

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:41 pm
by n8dv
Thank you I will try it.

Re: No audio on cs 700 clone

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 7:28 pm
by n8dv
I tried it here is what I received:
o: N8DV Fred B Regan (3126621, Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States)
From: 9999
Private DMR voice call from modem
At: 15:26:55 (length: 00:04)
To: 9999 (NorCal Meter)
From: N8DV Fred B Regan (3126621, Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States)
Group DMR voice call from modem
At: 15:26:52 (length: 00:03)
To: N8DV Fred B Regan (3126621, Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States)
From: 9999
Private DMR voice call from modem
At: 15:26:33 (length: 00:04)
To: 9999 (NorCal Meter)
From: N8DV Fred B Regan (3126621, Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States)
Group DMR voice call from modem
At: 15:26:31 (length: 00:01)
(late entry)
To: 9999 (NorCal Meter)
From: N8DV Fred B Regan (3126621, Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States)
Group
Still no audio. I think it may the radio.

Re: No audio on cs 700 clone

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 7:33 am
by HA2NON
openSPOT sends the local echo reply as a private call, so it should be heard on your radio regardless of RX group list settings.

Re: No audio on cs 700 clone

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:25 pm
by n8dv
Ok parrot works. I am receiving data but still no audio on the radio. This is the latest info:
To: 21080E5hOH
From: N6WXM
Group C4FM voice call from net
At: 10:21:48 (length: 00:03)
(DN mode 2)
To: ALL
From: DU1T-KITCH
Group C4FM voice call from net
At: 10:21:38 (length: 00:09)
(DN mode 2)
To: 21080E5hOH
From: N6WXM
Group C4FM voice call from net
At: 10:20:55 (length: 00:43)
(DN mode 2)
To: ALL
From: DU1T-KITCH
Group C4FM voice call from net
At: 10:20:45 (length: 00:09)
(DN mode 2)
To: 21080E5hOH
From: N6WXM
Group C4FM voice call from net
At: 10:20:45
(DN mode 2)
To: ALL
From: DU1T-KITCH
Group C4FM voice call from net
At: 10:20:45
(late entry, DN mode 2)
To: ALL
From: openSPOT
Group C4FM voice call from modem
At: 10:20:45
(DN mode 2)
To: ALL
From: FCS/INFO
Group C4FM voice call from net
At: 10:20:45
(DN mode 2)
To: ALL
From: DU1T-KITCH
Group C4FM voice call from net
At: 10:20:45
(late entry, DN mode 2)
To: ALL
From: DU1T-KITCH
Group C4FM voice call from net
At: 10:20:45
(DN mode 2)
To: 21080E5hOH
From: N6WXM
Group C4FM voice call from net
At: 10:20:45
(DN mode 2)
To: ALL
From: DU1T-KITCH
Group C4FM voice call from net
At: 10:20:45
(late entry, DN mode 2)
To: ALL
From: openSPOT
Group C4FM voice call from modem
At: 10:20:45
(DN mode 2)
To: ALL
From: FCS/INFO
HA2NON what am I doing wrong? The radio is set to TG 9 both TX and RX and openSPOT is receiving traffic. I don't know where I am going wrong. Please help.

Re: No audio on cs 700 clone

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:43 pm
by HA2NON
As I see, now you are trying to operate in cross mode using a C4FM connector. Make sure your modem is set to DMR mode. Please verify that openSPOT's color code (Settings page, DMR settings section) matches your radio's current channel's color code.

Please send screenshots of all pages of openSPOT's web interface. Please turn advanced mode on (there's a checkbox at the lower right part of the screen) before taking the screenshots.

Re: No audio on cs 700 clone

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:21 am
by milehigher
Some how the thought of buying a cheaper copy of a cheap copy ham radio that started life as LMR seems like a bad idea on its best day .

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk


Re: No audio on cs 700 clone

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:05 pm
by taildragger
I know this is an old post, but I have the same problem with my CS700. Would love some help getting it online, including maybe a simple codeplug and the settings on the openspot, Thanks

Re: No audio on cs 700 clone

Posted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 9:56 pm
by n6cid
Fred (n8dv),
You might want to change freqs from 436.000 too some other channel not in the Amsat (435 - 438) area...

The default channel (433.900) works fine...