TP Link and Open Spot

Post Reply
Mlolson
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 3:53 pm

TP Link and Open Spot

Post by Mlolson »

I can not resolve the following issue.

Set up TP Link.
Using personal hotspot on iPhone(connected ok).
Shark Open Spot Status Light continues to blink fast.
Looking for help, thank you - mlo

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4673
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: TP Link and Open Spot

Post by HA2NON »

Fast blinking red status LED means openSPOT is trying to connect, but it can't, because it can't access the server. Make sure the TP-Link is providing proper internet access to the openSPOT.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

User avatar
WB5JJJ
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 8:06 pm

Re: TP Link and Open Spot

Post by WB5JJJ »

Also if you are trying to connect to the UK server, it's password was changed over a year ago to passw1rd. openSPOT still does not reflect this change.
George Cotton, WB5JJJ
Russellville, Arkansas USA

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4673
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: TP Link and Open Spot

Post by HA2NON »

openSPOT does not store passwords for the servers.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

User avatar
WB5JJJ
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 8:06 pm

Re: TP Link and Open Spot

Post by WB5JJJ »

Where are the passwords found when I select a different server on the Connectors screen? If elsewhere, why has the UK server referenced password not been updated in almost a year? Seems kinda crazy that it has not been. Frustration for many UK first time users as I've seen on the various forums that can't get connected to the UK server until someone tells them to change the displayed password.
George Cotton, WB5JJJ
Russellville, Arkansas USA

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4673
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: TP Link and Open Spot

Post by HA2NON »

As I wrote, openSPOT does not store passwords for the servers. All servers use the default password "passw0rd" (if hotspot security is turned of in the BM Selfcare) except the UK server. We won't implement server password storage because of the UK server. Please ask the UK server admins to follow the rest of the network and use the default password.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

Post Reply