127

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4262
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: 127

Post by HA2NON » Tue Oct 31, 2017 1:43 pm

Can you please try setting it to high?

Also please try changing openSPOT's RX and TX frequencies in 100Hz steps to see if it fixes the MD380 issue.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4262
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: 127

Post by HA2NON » Tue Oct 31, 2017 2:11 pm

Please also try removing your radio's antenna for a receive test (James, AF5EH reported that his radio correctly receives when it has no antenna connected, or a 20dB attenuator is connected to the radio).
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

K9IUQ
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:05 pm

Re: 127

Post by K9IUQ » Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:27 pm

Ok, here is what I have done. Using ver 0130, 4FSK RC I changed ref freqs to high. No Change. I changed to Low. No change. Stuttering on both settings and I also tried several different TG's.

Then as you requested I changed my radios RX and TX freq in 100hz steps. I even went further and changed the freqs in huge mhz steps. No Change, 0130 gives me stuttering.

Then I decided to try version 0126. I had been using 0123 with 4FSK setting and it worked fine.

With 0126 and a 4FSK RC setting, there is no stuttering. I only have the stuttering problem on 0127 and 0130. I have not tried ver 0128 or 0129.

I have not removed the antenna as I just seen that post. Why would that stop the stuttering? My radio works just fine with antenna with ver 0123 and 0126. IMO the problem appears to be in the openspot's firmware - ver 0127 and higher?

Also why remove the antenna when reducing the openspots transmit level would do the same thing?

K9IUQ
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:05 pm

Re: 127

Post by K9IUQ » Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:51 pm

HA2NON wrote:
Tue Oct 31, 2017 2:11 pm
Please also try removing your radio's antenna for a receive test (James, AF5EH reported that his radio correctly receives when it has no antenna connected, or a 20dB attenuator is connected to the radio).
Removing the antenna seemed dumb as how could I transmit sans antenna? Soooo, instead I reduced transmit power from the openspot. I have had it set to 13dbm. I changed it to 0 dbm. Switching back and forth and saving I immediately noticed that at 0 DBM the RX was much better than at 13dbm.

Further testing shows that 0130 seems to be working as well as the earlier versions I had tried. Now the question is: WHY????? Why does it now work at a lower openspot transmit level?

User avatar
HA5OGR
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 7:32 pm
Location: Dunavarsány
Contact:

Re: 127

Post by HA5OGR » Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:24 pm

Do you have another DMR radio as well? Are you sure your radio works well? Consider that Openspot's power is reduced to 0 dbm and so your radio is well received. Do you think this is normal? I'm just curious.
73 de Lajos
Openspot alpha tester
Image

K9IUQ
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:05 pm

Re: 127

Post by K9IUQ » Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:44 pm

HA5OGR wrote:
Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:24 pm
Do you have another DMR radio as well? Are you sure your radio works well? Consider that Openspot's power is reduced to 0 dbm and so your radio is well received. Do you think this is normal? I'm just curious.
No the MD-380 is my only DMR radio. I do however have a Fusion FT-2dr radio which I have used with openspot.

Here is what I know, not what I think. My MD-380 works perfectly on versions below 127 without issue at full xmit power on the openspot. With versions 127 and higher I get stuttering at full openspot transmit power. This is not normal and leads me to believe "something" is definitely different with the openspot since the ONLY changes are the openspot firmware, not my radio.

I have done further testing with 0130 at different openspot transmit levels. While much better RX occurs at lower power levels, I STILL get stuttering but not as bad.

I get perfect RX at any openspot transmit level with version 0126 and 0123.

Here is what I "think": Something has changed with firmware version 127 and higher. My radio does not like the change. Neither does it's owner....

I give up as this is above my pay grade. I am going back to version 0126 which works without issue with MY radio at any openspot transmit level. I do not need this frustration with versions 0127 and 0130.

I learned many years ago that "New and Improved" is not always improved. :>

User avatar
HA5OGR
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 7:32 pm
Location: Dunavarsány
Contact:

Re: 127

Post by HA5OGR » Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:57 pm

You can use your FT2DR and Openspot in cross mode operation. I also have a FT-2DE and works fine with Openspot.OK, I took your decision. Good luck and have fun.
73 de Lajos
Openspot alpha tester
Image

dhlarson
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 12:09 am

Re: 127

Post by dhlarson » Tue Oct 31, 2017 10:03 pm

i also have terrible audio receive issues. even after i performed the DMR auto-cal. i went back to 126 and have no issues now.

K9IUQ
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:05 pm

Re: 127

Post by K9IUQ » Tue Oct 31, 2017 10:42 pm

dhlarson wrote:
Tue Oct 31, 2017 10:03 pm
i also have terrible audio receive issues. even after i performed the DMR auto-cal. i went back to 126 and have no issues now.
I believe (?) the DMR auto-cal is for TX only. FWIW I have talked to 2 different hams today and they told me the exact same thing you just posted. They were using 0127. They went back to earlier version and their RX was perfect.

I suspect that this issue is MORE prevalent than just the hams posting here. I suspect the majority of hams owning a openspot never come here to these forums. They are using 0127 and wondering why their RX is so bad.. This issue "could" easily give the Openspot a bad reputation. Until it gets fixed I would tell everyone to stay on 0126 or 0123 firmware. My view: Stay away from 0127 and higher versions.

User avatar
HA5OGR
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 7:32 pm
Location: Dunavarsány
Contact:

Re: 127

Post by HA5OGR » Wed Nov 01, 2017 4:39 am

I have read many comments already. One is good for the other is not. It is not easy to find the cause of the error.

Quotes:

"Lewis G. 2 x md380 running 129 fine." "None at all running toolz aswell on both and the md9600 has np issues with it aswell."

"Jeff L. 0130 is working with my CS750, which was not working well since 0126."

"Frank M. 129 here. All ok."

"George B. Works fine here, no problems."

and so on.....
73 de Lajos
Openspot alpha tester
Image

Post Reply