Firmware 0131 problem

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4275
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Firmware 0131 problem

Post by HA2NON » Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:01 am

Try resetting modem settings by clicking on the modem settings reset button at the bottom of the modem page.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

DO6HM
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:23 pm
Location: JO43WL
Contact:

Re: Firmware 0131 problem

Post by DO6HM » Thu Dec 07, 2017 6:25 pm

Reset of modem was no solution of the malfunction. The only solution was downgrade the firmware to 0127.

wl7coo
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:32 pm

Re: Firmware 0131 problem

Post by wl7coo » Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:35 pm

I spent the last 4+ hours trying to upgrade my openSPOT Version 1.1. from 0128 to 0131.

I've downloaded the current srf-osp-1.1-0131.bin (2017-11-06 14:01 UTC) at least 8 times and tried on two different systems using macOS High Sierra 10.13.2 Build (17C88) and Windows 10 Pro x 64 with all current updates under VMware Fusion 10 with all of it's updates in place on each of them.

I had no trouble connecting to it the *first time only* via Chrome Browser on High Sierra using http://openspot.local, made a small configuration change (changed the Master Server 3108 to 3103) and ...than from the Web Interface put it into BootLoader mode and copied srf-osp-1.1-0131.bin.

It did show success the first time and several other times times but the LEDs show nothing for Status and every time I do a manual reset (pen in reset hole while inserted micro usb in power) sometimes it says success and sometimes it says ERR (I never did get a screen scrape of the files it shows when I was able to successfully copy the .bin file to it).

High SIerra gave me a 'crc' error as the reason it did not succeed when it did not. On one occasion I tried the same file a second time and it did say 'Success' but then it displayed the same failed LED and access issues I've seen maybe 10 times today.

I even tried to redo the update to 0131 from a Surface Pro 4 that just finished all of it's updates for the day to both it's firmware and the WIn10 Pro 64 running on it. That attempt resulted in a failure to copy the .bin to the openSPOT and a Windows Error.

Everytime it errored in macOS I got an error about removing it before properly 'ejecting' it.

Is it bricked or am I missing something?

Thank You ...dan wl7coo
email at callsign @ arrl .net

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4275
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Firmware 0131 problem

Post by HA2NON » Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:10 am

You should use the terminal method to upgrade the firmware on macs.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

wl7coo
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:32 pm

Re: Firmware 0131 problem

Post by wl7coo » Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:10 pm

Thank you, in the future I will do that to change it's Firmware from within macOS.

I ended up reflashing 0128 and now the web interface appears.

...dan

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4275
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Firmware 0131 problem

Post by HA2NON » Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:01 am

If you have problems with the web interface not loading after upgrading the firmware, you should empty your browser's cache.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

DO6HM
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:23 pm
Location: JO43WL
Contact:

Re: Firmware 0131 problem

Post by DO6HM » Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:59 pm

Firmware 0.132 update korrekt - no problem

wl7coo
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:32 pm

Re: Firmware 0131 problem

Post by wl7coo » Sat Dec 23, 2017 6:21 pm

My openSPOT worked well with 0132 beta FW until Master Server 3108, which was set as the Primary Master Server, seemed to disappear for a while on Dec 16.

It was fine, all green LEDS, when we went out and the Status LED was blinking Red when we got home 5 or 6 hours later. It is now in my 'Electronics Status Scan' everytime I leave the house.

I have tried every Master in the US as the Primary and as the Backup - after every reboot it comes up with a continuously flashing red Status LED and the Status Screen says 'connector connecting' which never changes even after Modem reset, reconfig and rebooting.

It does correctly report it is "... trying to connect to Homebrew Server" in response to 9998 and it's it announces it's correct IP Address in response to 9001.

Logging into it is not a problem from any device with a browser (in any OS) on any of my networks - getting it to work as a HotSpot is still elusive.

Thanks for any advice you might have. 73, ...dan wl7coo

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4275
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Firmware 0131 problem

Post by HA2NON » Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:37 am

Try using another server. openSPOT always connects if a server is available. Users also reported in the past that they sometime have problems with the US servers during the weekends (busy hours).
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

wl7coo
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:32 pm

Re: Firmware 0131 problem

Post by wl7coo » Sun Dec 24, 2017 5:40 pm

I did try all four US Master Servers as both the Primary and Backup.
Ditto resetting modem and reconfiguring it from scratch a few times.

No joy.

Post Reply