TYT Radio not getting out through openSpot

Kk4fu
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:31 pm

Re: TYT Radio not getting out through openSpot

Post by Kk4fu »

Ok been fighting with the openspot now for about three weeks,using Md 390,Will not work on Dmr. Can hear but no transmit ,no unlink all light are green and flickering in the transmitting mode,seems to be locked on Tac 310 also will not calibrate ; Whats wrong?My tx/rx simplex frequency is 439.6000 , is this the problem?
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5458
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: TYT Radio not getting out through openSpot

Post by HA2NON »

Does the modem LED blink green when you press PTT on the radio?
Have yo uset RX and TX ref. frequencies to medium in your radio's CPS?
Have you tried openSPOT firmware v127?
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
PA911EMT
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:42 am

Re: TYT Radio not getting out through openSpot

Post by PA911EMT »

AA1PR wrote: Sat Apr 08, 2017 6:06 pm I didnt see this mentioned

I use color code 1 and timeslot 2, TS 2 is key to getting it working properly

make sure you are using talk group 9 aka local for cross mode
That's not exactly correct. I use TS1 and have no problems. Time slot on simplex mode does not matter.
~W3EMT~
HamRadioFanatic
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 2:13 pm

Re: TYT Radio not getting out through openSpot

Post by HamRadioFanatic »

I am having exact same issues. When I press PTT, the RSSI graph shows activity. However, I can't hear anything, keerchunk, etc. Same issues persists even after installing firmware v.123 over the weekend. I am using MD390 radio.

I am also having similar issues when connecting do DStar from an Icon DV-31A. At least with DStar, the other stations cq calls flashes on the screen of the radio but I would only hear a brief garbled audio and that's it. RSSI shows it's receiving the signal from the Icom radio but that is where everything stops.

73 and and thanks in advance for all the help. I've had my radios and SharkRF for 2 weeks now.

KO6Zi /DMR ID: 1106865
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5458
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: TYT Radio not getting out through openSpot

Post by HA2NON »

Have you tried openSPOT's built-in DMR and D-STAR local echo services? Do they work correctly?
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
N2JWC
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:21 pm

Re: TYT Radio not getting out through openSpot

Post by N2JWC »

Seems smart enough to drop in here.

I am having the same issues on my TYT MD380. Running firmware 128 on the OS now and STOCK TYT MD380 firmware. I am using 434.55000 as my TX and RX. The CPS only allows LOW or HIGH, I use LOW (have tested on HIGH). Auto Cal for DMR puts me in Mode D (have also manually stepped through A -> F). All I get on echo (9999) is some garble back, tried a TAC 310 call with a friend, he hears the same garble. When monitoring hose on BM I can hear the same thing.

I can hear fine. No local repeaters in range for my HT.

I have also gone so far to as reflash my MD380, new CP and have reset the configuration on the OS.

BTW, my DSTAR with Kenwood D74 is working fine.

Ideas are welcome.

John
N2JWC
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5458
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: TYT Radio not getting out through openSpot

Post by HA2NON »

Can you please show us a screenshot of the BER graph during you press PTT on the radio?
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
N2JWC
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:21 pm

Re: TYT Radio not getting out through openSpot

Post by N2JWC »

BER is hovering near 0.

However, my internal mic seems to be my problem. I tested simplex today with the same experience as the OS and a repeater. Finally decided to grab my kenwood external speakermic and it works with the speakermic.

At one time I had hacked firmware, now stock TYT firmware. Not sure if maybe there was a Mic setting that may still be set or not. At this time I can operate, but only with the external mic.

Does not appear to be an openspot problem. Thanks!

73s
N2JWC
ak9s
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:23 am

Re: TYT Radio not getting out through openSpot

Post by ak9s »

AA1PR wrote: Sat Apr 08, 2017 6:06 pm I didnt see this mentioned

I use color code 1 and timeslot 2, TS 2 is key to getting it working properly

make sure you are using talk group 9 aka local for cross mode
That should not be the case - the OpenSpot works with either TS1 or TS2, as both are in use during transmissions. Just pick one.
AA1PR
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:07 pm
Location: FN33 Vermont Mountains
Contact:

Re: TYT Radio not getting out through openSpot

Post by AA1PR »

ak9s wrote: Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:28 am
AA1PR wrote: Sat Apr 08, 2017 6:06 pm I didnt see this mentioned

I use color code 1 and timeslot 2, TS 2 is key to getting it working properly

make sure you are using talk group 9 aka local for cross mode
That should not be the case - the OpenSpot works with either TS1 or TS2, as both are in use during transmissions. Just pick one.
OK maybe the TS doesnt matter but the TG sure does
I've got your DMR #
http://dmr.boards.net/
Post Reply