Page 1 of 1

Choose another APRS callsign

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:36 am
by PD2RLD
Hello,

I have a simple request.
I use APRS with UI-View and my callsign PD2RLD.
On the website aprs.fi I saw that the openSPOT uses the same callsign.

I was wondering, is it possible to change the APRS-callsign in the openSPOT with an SSID like -5 or something? I try it now in the openSPOT and it works, but with SSID -5 my callsign PD2RLD-5 is not shown on the Brandmeister Portal under My Hotspots (because the SSID -5). Maybe can it be implemented?

73, Roland, PD2RLD.

Re: Choose another APRS callsign

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:03 am
by HA2NON
openSPOT does not directly send anything to the APRS network, the servers do it. If the BM selfcare does not let you do this, you can ask BrandMeister for the feature on https://ask.brandmeister.network/

Re: Choose another APRS callsign

Posted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:18 pm
by PD2RLD
Hello Norbert,

Thanks for your answer, I didn't know that it works that way.

73's, Roland, PD2RLD.

Re: Choose another APRS callsign

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:07 pm
by Pa3koe
Hello Robert,

If you check your hotspot in Brandmeister. Please look at the "priority message" "priortijt bericht" Fill in NOAPRS and the hotspot doesn't send APRS data anymore.

Re: Choose another APRS callsign

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:48 pm
by HA2NON
The openSPOT does not send anything to the APRS network, only the BrandMeister server does.

Re: Choose another APRS callsign

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 8:59 am
by PA3CQJ
Try putting an SSID after your spots id, the id becomes 9 characters long, 02 gives -2 on aprs.fi, 03 gives -3 and so on.