WiFi automatic change from iPhone to home WiFi

Post Reply
W2TBC
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 1:17 am

WiFi automatic change from iPhone to home WiFi

Post by W2TBC » Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:39 pm

I received my OpenSpot2 a few days ago and couldn't get it to change automatically from my home WiFi to my cell phone hot-spot. Well after looking and trying several options and a lot of head scratching I finally figured it out. Hope this Helps others. Don't forget to use latest version of firmware.

1. Go in advanced mode on dashboard.
2. Put first hot-spot in SSID#1 (Name cannot have special characters or punctuation).
3. Put in password.
4. Do the same for WiFi #2 (and so on if more than 2).
5. CLICK BOX "SAVE TO ALL CONFIGURATIONS PROFILES". I believe this step is what did it.
6. Click SAVE.
Be sure only one WiFi signal is in range.
THIS WORKED FOR ME, GOOD LUCK!

k1tp
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:50 am

Re: WiFi automatic change from iPhone to home WiFi

Post by k1tp » Tue Nov 27, 2018 12:45 am

My iPhone hotspot name is Jon’s iPhone ....the instructions say no punctuation in name allowed for openspot configuration of WiFi......I cannot seem to change my user name as it is fixed by the iPhone.....what do I do?

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4355
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: WiFi automatic change from iPhone to home WiFi

Post by HA2NON » Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:47 am

Space characters are allowed in the SSID. Where do you see that they are not allowed?
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

k1tp
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:50 am

Re: WiFi automatic change from iPhone to home WiFi

Post by k1tp » Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:26 pm

Norbert,
Can I use Jon’s iPhone....a name with punctuation?

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4355
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: WiFi automatic change from iPhone to home WiFi

Post by HA2NON » Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:28 pm

Yes. If you enter the SSID manually then make sure you enter the correct character for the apostrophe because iPhones tend to use a special apostrophe sign, not the default ' which you can enter with your keyboard.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

Post Reply