Openspot2 and Iphone

PY4CK
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:33 am

Openspot2 and Iphone

Post by PY4CK » Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:27 am

I have registered my iPhone internet and password on the OS2.

The first attempts to connect were not successful and then it connected. It worked very fine and the reports were as if I had the HT connected to my base station, that is very good audio and connection.

However I am experiencing difficulties since then to reconnect to internet using my Iphone X. Nothing has changed.

Is there a trick to have it connected, maybe a boot sequence to respect? Any clues? With my home internet, the connection is almost immediate, just a question of 10 seconds or so.

Eduardo

Gskroll
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:39 am

Re: Openspot2 and Iphone

Post by Gskroll » Sat Dec 08, 2018 12:32 pm

I have read that it may be necessary to remain on the iPhone’s Settings/Personal Hotpot screen until the OpenSpot connects.

My experience so far seems to bear this out.

Glenn
KB1YF


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Zombie
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:09 pm

Re: Openspot2 and Iphone

Post by Zombie » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:38 pm

Yep your phone has to be on the Hotspot menu for it to be active. Once you leave the Hotspot page it disables the connection.

N0FXQ
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:43 pm

Re: Openspot2 and Iphone

Post by N0FXQ » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:29 pm

One other problem I encountered was the iPhone's SSID. The default was Richard's iPhone. I was told that spaces and special characters like the apostrophe will cause problems. Once I changed the SSID to Richard all is well.

PY4CK
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:33 am

Re: Openspot2 and Iphone

Post by PY4CK » Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:57 pm

Thank you all for the comments.

I seem to remember having left the iPhone hotspot page on while booting the OS2 but will double check that.

For the hint on not leaving spaces and special characters on the SSID, I will keep it simple, just my name (Eduardo) and check if that resolves the issue. I hope so.

As I said before, I managed to have it connected two times and then no more.

I will try as stated and come back here to state my findings. Anyway, thank you very much for the messages.

73 - PY4CK

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4075
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Openspot2 and Iphone

Post by HA2NON » Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:43 am

The iPhone have the SSID by default in the format "John's iPhone" and it uses a special apostrophe character which can't be entered from the keyboard. If you copy and paste the SSID so that special apostrophe is entered in the openSPOT2 web interface then the OS2 will handle it correctly.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

W7rjr
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:14 pm

Re: Openspot2 and Iphone

Post by W7rjr » Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:48 pm

Can someone point me to a tutorial regarding how to setup profiles and how to use them? I will be using my OS2 at home and with my cellphone. Not sure how to setup these profiles or how to use them properly? Can I switch from one to the other on the fly? Thanks.

Zombie
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:09 pm

Re: Openspot2 and Iphone

Post by Zombie » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:37 pm

I have mine set up that way. Profile one is home and two is mobile. Set up each profile with your specifics (freq, mode, room, network, etc.) and save it. To change profiles either do it by computer or the Shark App on the phone. Once you change the profile it will immediately look for the designated WiFi network. Once located it connects and all is good.

W7rjr
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:14 pm

Re: Openspot2 and Iphone

Post by W7rjr » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:59 pm

So, to setup a profile I should switch to AP mode, then enter all the relevant info such as UID, wifi SSID/password, etc and then save it to a profile. I have done that. How do I activate or switch to a profile without entering AP mode? If I am in my vehicle and discover that OS2 is still on Profile 1, how do I swith to Profile 2 or vice versa??

Zombie
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:09 pm

Re: Openspot2 and Iphone

Post by Zombie » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:07 pm

The other option which I haven't completely verified yet is to list both your home and mobile (Hotspot) WiFi networks in the profile(s). Either just one profile with both or maybe two profiles with both WiFi sources with their locations within the profile swapped. Basically profile one with home then mobile listed and profile two with mobile then home listed. The OS2 looks for the first network then if it can't connect will look for the second one listed. I haven't completely verified all of that but that's my understanding of it. So, to answer your question if you take it from the house to the mobile with both networks listed once it loses the home WiFi it should look for the phone Hotspot. Again, I haven't verified that yet but it's on my list. Hope that helps some.

Post Reply