FW V31: APRS

Post Reply
DH2ID
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 9:36 pm

FW V31: APRS

Post by DH2ID »

Hello Nonoo, thank you for the FW-update to V31!
I have installed V31 just now and it works fine with the new APRS connector.
My questions:
1. How do I set the beacon interval? I only see a RX timeout in the
APRS connector settings (set at 65 seconds).
2. Callsign settings. I want them all at an SSID of -7. Do I set all the
CS to -7?
3. Does "used forced SSID", "symbol" and "comment" mean that
the radio settings are overridden?
Can you please write a short tutorial or update the handbook. I haven't found
anything about APRS there.
Vy 73, Alex - DH2ID
9g5ar
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 10:04 pm

Re: FW V31: APRS

Post by 9g5ar »

I got aprs working in a few minutes without any reference.
Keep in mind that there are 2 devices to setup...
a. openspot2 and
b.your radio.

Go to.....
"Connectors"
"Edit connectors"
"aprs"
or simply click "aprs" on the status page.

1. At the aprs section click "enable in background"

2. Enable either "DStar location forwarding" or "C4FM location forwarding".

3. If you want to override your phones setting, enable the " forced" options.

4.
You need to set up your radio now...

I have "GPS Data TX" enabled on my DStar radio.
( GPS info in frame ).

Hope this helps.
DH2ID
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 9:36 pm

Re: FW V31: APRS

Post by DH2ID »

Thank you for the Info.
Yes, this helps, as I have also found that every APRS TRX is
controlled by the radio. All is ok now.
Vy 73, Alex - DH2ID
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5386
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: FW V31: APRS

Post by HA2NON »

The user manual is updated only when a stable firmware is released.
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
Post Reply