Page 1 of 1

FW V31: APRS

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 7:15 pm
by DH2ID
Hello Nonoo, thank you for the FW-update to V31!
I have installed V31 just now and it works fine with the new APRS connector.
My questions:
1. How do I set the beacon interval? I only see a RX timeout in the
APRS connector settings (set at 65 seconds).
2. Callsign settings. I want them all at an SSID of -7. Do I set all the
CS to -7?
3. Does "used forced SSID", "symbol" and "comment" mean that
the radio settings are overridden?
Can you please write a short tutorial or update the handbook. I haven't found
anything about APRS there.
Vy 73, Alex - DH2ID

Re: FW V31: APRS

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:29 pm
by 9g5ar
I got aprs working in a few minutes without any reference.
Keep in mind that there are 2 devices to setup...
a. openspot2 and
b.your radio.

Go to.....
"Connectors"
"Edit connectors"
"aprs"
or simply click "aprs" on the status page.

1. At the aprs section click "enable in background"

2. Enable either "DStar location forwarding" or "C4FM location forwarding".

3. If you want to override your phones setting, enable the " forced" options.

4.
You need to set up your radio now...

I have "GPS Data TX" enabled on my DStar radio.
( GPS info in frame ).

Hope this helps.

Re: FW V31: APRS

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:23 am
by DH2ID
Thank you for the Info.
Yes, this helps, as I have also found that every APRS TRX is
controlled by the radio. All is ok now.
Vy 73, Alex - DH2ID

Re: FW V31: APRS

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:15 am
by HA2NON
The user manual is updated only when a stable firmware is released.