2 Openspot2 in use

Post Reply
DO2SKY
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:14 pm

2 Openspot2 in use

Post by DO2SKY » Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:28 pm

I want to use 2 Openspot2 in close proximity to each other. 1 Openspot as a DAP-NET transmitter and the other one as a hotspot for DMR / C4FM, etc. Since everything is portable together in a small box, I'm a little worried because both devices sit quite close to each other (maximum distance 2-3 cm ), how I can prevent a mutual disturbance of the signals or how I can prevent a radiation into the other hotspot. The simplest solution would be if you could operate 1 Openspot in the 2 meter band. This is not possible according to the manual. Who has realized such a build-up and could tell me whether a mutual influence takes place, or whether an additional filter could help here.

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 4396
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 Openspot2 in use

Post by HA2NON » Fri Mar 15, 2019 2:10 pm

I'm using 2 openSPOT2s on my desk which are basically stacked on top of each other and have no issues.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

KB0OXD
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 5:03 am

Re: 2 Openspot2 in use

Post by KB0OXD » Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:43 pm

DO2SKY wrote:I want to use 2 Openspot2 in close proximity to each other. 1 Openspot as a DAP-NET transmitter and the other one as a hotspot for DMR / C4FM, etc. Since everything is portable together in a small box, I'm a little worried because both devices sit quite close to each other (maximum distance 2-3 cm ), how I can prevent a mutual disturbance of the signals or how I can prevent a radiation into the other hotspot. The simplest solution would be if you could operate 1 Openspot in the 2 meter band. This is not possible according to the manual. Who has realized such a build-up and could tell me whether a mutual influence takes place, or whether an additional filter could help here.
DO NOT PUT THEM ON THE SAME FREQUENCY or you (And WE Image) WILL have problems with QRM (Even if they are on two different protocols)

I say this because they would be SO CLOSE TO ONE ANOTHER that QRM is possible EVEN IF they are on different protocols (DAPNET vs. DMR)

If you spend any amount of time at all listening to the QRM that happens when two hotspots are linked together like this & put on TAC 310 when QSOs are taking place is a good example of this

Cheers & 73 Image

Pat, KB0OXD

Sent from my Alcatel_5059R using Tapatalk


K1GGS
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:06 am

Re: 2 Openspot2 in use

Post by K1GGS » Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:11 am

Why do you need 2 Opensot 2's? One will handle both. I have a single Openspot 2 operting on buth DMR and DAPNET. When i'm not busy on DMR (most of the time), the Openspot will automatically change to 439.9874 and transmit Dapnet pages, then shift back. I've seen no issues at all. I'll admit that there is little Dapnet traffic in my area.

Rusty K1GGS

Post Reply