APRS from Openspot

Post Reply
DB9WY
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 4:31 pm

APRS from Openspot

Post by DB9WY »

Hallo !

I have seen on APRS.FI that my Openspot transmits APRS, not my TRX. Where can I switch this on or off in the Openspot software ?

Regards
Manfred
DB9WY

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5297
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: APRS from Openspot

Post by HA2NON »

openSPOT does not connect or send anything to the APRS network. Probably the network you are connected to pass your location data to APRS. If you don't want that, turn location transmitting in your radio off (ex. turn off the GPS receiver).
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

DB9WY
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 4:31 pm

Re: APRS from Openspot

Post by DB9WY »

Hello !
Thank you for your reply, but none of my trx has GPS. I have Hytera PD365 and a CS 580.

Regards
Manfred
DB9WY

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5297
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: APRS from Openspot

Post by HA2NON »

Then you've set your location on the openSPOT's settings page, location settings. The location settings are used by some networks (for ex. BrandMeister), and they can publish this information to the APRS IS.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

moreychang
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 2:03 pm

Re: APRS from Openspot

Post by moreychang »

I have two openSPOTs, both have set the location from the location settings.
One keep updating the location every half an hour on aprs.fi using [my callsign]-1, the other, I guess the name is [my callsign]-2 hasn't updated its location from 09/08. What settings should I verify?

Image

Image

They both use different hostname, different master server, different frequency.

BTW, what is the naming rule on aprs.fi if I have multiple openspots?
Thanks a lot.

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5297
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: APRS from Openspot

Post by HA2NON »

openSPOT does not connect to the APRS network, the server does and reports your openSPOT's location. Ask your server's administrator about the issue.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

Post Reply