openspot upgrade

Post Reply
cashy
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:13 am

openspot upgrade

Post by cashy » Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:15 am

hi all,
is anyone experiencing problems since the latest firmware upgrade?

cant connect, cant open software...

any help would be appreaciated

regards

dave

Tyrbiter
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:25 pm

Re: openspot upgrade

Post by Tyrbiter » Tue Sep 11, 2018 12:14 pm

cashy wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:15 am
hi all,
is anyone experiencing problems since the latest firmware upgrade?

cant connect, cant open software...

any help would be appreaciated

regards

dave
Personally no problems, my openSPOT has been running 0141 fw for more than 2 months now.

Can you expand upon the can't connect, can't open software statements above?
Brian

G0SMO
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 2:40 pm
Location: Wolverhampton

Re: openspot upgrade

Post by G0SMO » Tue Sep 11, 2018 12:29 pm

I'm having the same problem.
the red status light is flashing rapidly (about twice a second) and I'm unable to transmit or receive anything.
When I do transmit from my handheld radio the green modem light flashes as usual which suggests my radio is talking to the Openspot ok, its just not doing anything from there.

I've tried re setting my modem, the Openspot, re loading the previous firmware and again the new one but all to no avail.

Any ideas anyone?
Chris
73 de Chris-G0SMO

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 3604
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: openspot upgrade

Post by HA2NON » Tue Sep 11, 2018 1:53 pm

The status LED indicate that openSPOT is trying to connect to the selected server but it can't for some reason. Check you connector configuration (server password, hotspot security on BM network, etc.)
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

Tyrbiter
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:25 pm

Re: openspot upgrade

Post by Tyrbiter » Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:03 pm

G0SMO wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 12:29 pm
I'm having the same problem.
the red status light is flashing rapidly (about twice a second) and I'm unable to transmit or receive anything.
When I do transmit from my handheld radio the green modem light flashes as usual which suggests my radio is talking to the Openspot ok, its just not doing anything from there.

I've tried re setting my modem, the Openspot, re loading the previous firmware and again the new one but all to no avail.

Any ideas anyone?
Chris
Are you connecting to the Phoenix F server? It appeared to be off line earlier today.

I think it's back now.
Brian

User avatar
HA5OGR
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 7:32 pm
Location: Dunavarsány
Contact:

Re: openspot upgrade

Post by HA5OGR » Wed Sep 12, 2018 2:02 am

11th September 2018 From the Network Admins:

Phoenix-F has now moved to 78.129.135.43 . Openspot SharRF, and Pi-Star users will need to wait for tomorrow (12/09/18) for their server list to update. Otherwise manually enter the IP change to reconnect.
73 de Lajos
Openspot alpha tester
Image

G0SMO
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 2:40 pm
Location: Wolverhampton

Re: openspot upgrade

Post by G0SMO » Wed Sep 12, 2018 6:02 am

Thanks for your reply and help everyone, I’m now back up and running. 😎👍👌
73 de Chris-G0SMO

Dfb8085
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:50 pm

Re: openspot upgrade

Post by Dfb8085 » Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:34 pm

I am having trouble with the openspot staying connected to any server. Constant having to reboot and sign back in. Never before the upgrade did I have so much problem. Is it possible that the download could have gotten corrupted

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 3604
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: openspot upgrade

Post by HA2NON » Thu Sep 27, 2018 5:11 pm

The bootloader verifies all written data so if the openSPOT boots then the firmware is not corrupt. What do you mean by you have to reboot? You have to reboot your computer or the openSPOT?
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

Dfb8085
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:50 pm

Re: openspot upgrade

Post by Dfb8085 » Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:30 pm

I have to reboot the openspot to get it back online and connected to a server. When I try to use the IP to bring the openspot dashboard up it either doesn't respond or is in some kind of erratic state with part of the screen showing or the settings with the servers show disconnected. I am using one each of the 4 profiles 90001-90004 to connect to 3102-3103-3104 -3108 so I just a kerchuck of the radio I can send a change profile command and have the openspot connect to which ever server I want. Also when the openspot is in a state of confusion it does not show that it is not receiving any log data. This normally occurs it seems when it and the computer may have been left unattended for an extended period of time.

Post Reply