OpenSpot Not Connecting

Post Reply
kurtbec
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 4:45 pm

OpenSpot Not Connecting

Post by kurtbec »

I am trying to setup my OpenSpot 2 on my iphone so I can run my Icom 5100 in Dstar. I cannot even get into the setup page and I get kicked out of it. For example, I can get as far as choosing a wifi connection and when I do I get booted. Cannot even get this set up. Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Tyrbiter
Posts: 358
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:25 pm

Re: OpenSpot Not Connecting

Post by Tyrbiter »

What colour is the OS2's LED flashing when you try this?

It should start out flashing fast white while the OS2 sets itself up from cold, then it should go to slow white pulsing while the OS2 is activating the AP mode which you search for on the iPhone WiFi settings.
Brian

kurtbec
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 4:45 pm

Re: OpenSpot Not Connecting

Post by kurtbec »

It goes from blinking red fast to blue then just drops off

Tyrbiter
Posts: 358
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:25 pm

Re: OpenSpot Not Connecting

Post by Tyrbiter »

I think you need to get back to AP mode by pressing the reset button for 3 seconds. Wait until you have slow pulsing white LED and then try to find the OS2 AP using the iPhone WiFi scanning.
Brian

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5027
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: OpenSpot Not Connecting

Post by HA2NON »

- You can reconfigure the Wi-Fi connection if you switch back the openSPOT2 to access point mode by pressing the button for 3 seconds.
- The openSPOT2 will start broadcasting it's own Wi-Fi network called "openSPOT2 AP", indicated by white LED. You can connect to this network using your browser device (phone/tablet/computer). Make sure you place your phone/tablet/computer close to the openSPOT2 during this time. The initialization setup will pop up, where you can select the country of operation and configure a Wi-Fi network for the openSPOT2 to connect to.
- Make sure you've entered the Wi-Fi password case sensitive.
- After you've chosen the Wi-Fi network and entered the password, the openSPOT2 stops broadcasting it's own Wi-Fi network and starts connecting to the selected network. At that moment, your browser device (phone/tablet/computer) will disconnect from the openSPOT2's network. What you have to do now is to connect to the exact same Wi-Fi network with your browser device as you've configured for the openSPOT2, and then use sharkrf.link to open the web interface.
- If you have WEP encryption on your router, then make sure the password is ASCII, not hex. The openSPOT2 only supports ASCII WEP passwords. The best is to switch the encryption to WPA2 or WPA because it's much safer.
- Make sure you have enabled 2.4GHz Wi-Fi, not just 5GHz.
- Place the openSPOT2 close to the Wi-Fi router.
- Make sure the Wi-Fi bandwith is set to max. 20Mhz in the Wi-Fi router (see explanation here: https://superuser.com/questions/542191/ ... less-speed)
- If it still does not work, try switching Wi-Fi channel on your Wi-Fi router. Only channels 1, 6 or 11 should be used (see explanation here: https://www.metageek.com/training/resou ... -6-11.html)
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

N4BKR
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 4:11 am

Re: OpenSpot Not Connecting

Post by N4BKR »

I had this issue today. We lost power in the area, and there was no wifi available anywhere. I could have entered my wifi information manually, but the option stayed greyed out because the openspot2 couldn't detect any wifi from anywhere (no power anywhere). The phone's wifi hotspot doesn't work when the the phone is connected via AP mode. It's either taking a wireless connection from the Os2 AP, or it's in hotspot mode.

There should be a way to manually enter the phone's hotspot information without detecting any wifi networks. If I could have entered the information manually, I could have then rebooted the Os2 and it would have found the phone's hotspot.

User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5027
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: OpenSpot Not Connecting

Post by HA2NON »

If the OS2 is in AP mode, then there's a button labelled "Manual connect" at the Wireless scan list, where you can enter the SSID and key of the AP to connect.
Norbert "Nonoo" Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team

Post Reply