MAC address change

Post Reply
dgmaley
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 3:45 am

MAC address change

Post by dgmaley »

Thank you for the version three device. Using it in place of a version one.

My router is set for IP/Mac filtering and does little dhcp. I use filtering to allow some devices access to additional ports over the standard. The OpenSpot is wide open.

Thought an easy way to make the new openspot3 comparable is to assign it the same IP and change it’s Mac to the openspot1. Brought up the first profile and set it up, thinking everything gets copied to the other profiles. Noooo. Everything got copied over except the new MAC address.

Do you know what happens when the IP and Mac no longer match?

Would it be possible to pop up a window, asking if the new Mac should be copied to all profiles?
Not sure why anyone would want a different Mac for each profile.
User avatar
HA2NON
SharkRF team
SharkRF team
Posts: 5934
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Re: MAC address change

Post by HA2NON »

Your router assigns IP addresses based on the MAC address of it's clients. Change your OS3's MAC address in all your configuration profiles one by one if you want your router to assign the same IP address in all profiles.
Norbert Varga, HA2NON
SharkRF Team
dgmaley
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 3:45 am

Re: MAC address change

Post by dgmaley »

I have been retired from this for several years.

I need to thank you for helping maintain my skill. When you step away, it slips very fast.

OS3 definitely not a device normally found on a large network.
Yes, I changed each MAC address manually while talking to myself.

Still fun for me.
Post Reply